Carl Kramer accepting the Founders Award at the LHL Annual Meeting in March 2018.

Named for the League's co-founders, Rev. Clyde Crews & Allan Steinberg, this award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to Louisville history over many years.

The 2018 Founders Award honoree is Carl Kramer. Carl, a well-known regional historian, is an adjunct history professor at Indiana University Southeast. Carl has written 13 books, authored 30 entries for the Encyclopedia of Louisville, and has given numerous presentations to the League on local history. 

Click here to view list of past Founder Award recipients



First awarded  in 2013, the League recognizes an author who published a book in the previous year which continues the legacy of Sam Thomas, who wrote over 20 exceptional books on local history.

The 2018 recipients were Bill Ellison & Linda Raymond for their book "The Two Lives and One Passion of Louise Marshall." Louise Marshall was the founder of the Cabbage Patch Settlement House in the early 1900s, which still exists on South Sixth Street near Hill Street.

Click here to view list of previous book award recipients



This award is named for longtime Courier-Journal reporter Martha Elson who, over a period of 40 years, wrote thousands of articles featuring the Louisville area's neighborhoods. 

The 2018 recipient is Mike Zanone. Mike gives tours of his St. Joseph neighborhood, as well as performs re-enactments of legendary Louisvillians like baseball slugger Louis Rogers 'Pete' Browning. Mike also is very passionate about local history and helps give tours of Louisville cemeteries.

click here to view previous martha elson award recipients



Branden Klayko was a LHL Board member and produced the popular blog 'Broken Sidewalk'. Branden was very passionate about preservation and historical efforts. He helped save numerous buildings such as the Coleman Building at the southeast corner of Jefferson & Third, which is now part of the Marriott Hotel. Branden lost his battle with cancer in 2017.

The first recipient of the Klayko Award is Sheldon Shafer. Sheldon retired from the Courier-Journal in 2017, where he worked for almost 40 years. Sheldon covered urban development projects. He also had the first scoop on a new major project for the region. Sheldon was the "print" version of Branden. 

Click here to view previous branden klayko award recipients



The Heritage Award recognizes important history contributions by an individual or group. The 2018 Heritage Award recipients are as follows:

Nancy Wetherby, Dudley Wetherby, & Mark Stigers for their volunteer curator efforts with the Middletown History Museum.

Dell Courtney for her coordination efforts of the former Heritage Weekends on the Belvedere, as well as popular civic parades for Halloween & St. Patrick's Day. She also assisted with logistics for the Lewis & Clark bicentennial celebration.

Mike Kimmel for his advocacy of river history as Deputy Director of the Waterfront Development Corp. where he worked for 30 years before retiring in 2017.

click here to view previous heritage award recipients