About LHL


The Louisville Historical League (LHL) was founded in 1972 by Rev. Clyde Crews and Allan Steinberg. Since then, the League has provided almost 50 years of informative programs for hundreds of members, representing all ages and backgrounds

Mission Statement

The League is dedicated to promoting the appreciation and preservation of the cultural heritage and historic environment in the Louisville metropolitan region.


The League offers year-round unique opportunites to experience the diverse historical and cultural heritage of the Louisville metropolitan region. 

What makes the League different from other regional historical groups is our visits each month to various locations around the community where the history actually occurred. In the course of a year, you will visit numerous places such as historic homes, landmark buildings, cemeteries, and neighborhoods. 

To view our current list of upcoming meetings. click on the 'PROGRAMS' menu tab at the top of this webpage. 

Join the League Today!

Membership in the League is very affordable. For membership categories and how to join, click on the 'MEMBERSHIP' menu tab at the top of this webpage

Email the League

Email the League at LouHist@Hotmail.com


lhl board of directors

Anne Tobbe Bader, Archaeologist

Stephen Brown, Louisville history

Tia Brown, Louisville history

Bryan Bush, Civil War / Military history

Cynthia Cooke, Louisville history

Johna Picco Ebling, archivist

Gary Falk, Louisville history / Music history

Michael L. Jones, Music history

Kenny Karem, Louisville history

Kim Kirkwood, Louisville history

Jack Koppel, Cemetery history

Carl Kramer, Louisville history

Ken Machtolff, Aviation history

Jeff McCaffrey, Treasurer

Barb McGee, Louisville history

Nick Morris, Louisville history

Wadia Newman, Architectural history

Chuck Parrish, River history

Ellen White, Louisville history / Cemetery history

Steve Wiser, Architectural history

Mike Zanone, Louisville history

LHL Board of Directors

LHL Board of Directors